About Me: Update

I believe it’s important for people to be as honest with themselves as they can be about their personal difficulties and struggles.  Only truth lights the way home; ignorance or wilful denial is a sure way to drift off course.  I also believe it’s important to share the stories of our personal struggles with each other.  We are, all of us, engaged in life as human beings; and with that comes difficulties, struggles and questions common to all people.  By sharing our stories, we can work towards destigmatizing difficulties, we can help ease the suffering of others, and we can move towards raising our consciousness, collectively, of what it means to be human.  In fact, I think that when we separate ourselves from others, we may contribute to dangerous ignorance and misunderstanding about the human condition.  We may influence others to see us as “having it all together” when in fact we’re falling apart.  And we may influence those others to think there’s something “wrong” with them, because they aren’t as “unflawed” as they think we are.

With this in mind, I want to disclose a few more details about who I am.  Specifically, I want to share that I am a former mental health therapist.  I worked in hospital settings in the area of community mental health for several years prior to being diagnosed with a dissociative disorder (DDNOS – Dissociative Disorder Not Otherwise Specified).  As you know if you have read some of my other blog posts, my diagnosis stems from chronic abuse in my family of origin when I was a child.  I also have a diagnosis of PTSD.  I am no longer working, while I receive treatment for my own mental health issues.

For the time being, I plan to continue to keep my name and some other identifying details private.  This is for the simple and important reason that I find that this anonymity allows me to be more honest and open in my posts.

This blog is about my journey of recovery of my true self.  In it, I write about my symptoms, my pain, my new understandings of who I am and my triumphs.  I benefit greatly from sharing my story in this venue and from reading the stories of others in their blogs.

I am so grateful to have your company on my road back to me.

Yours in healing,

Annie.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for being open and sharing your journey with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

